Rhinos prevail over Ndovus to scoop Above 40 title

S&S Acrovent Rhinos are the champions of the second edition of the Maniwa Cup Premier League ‘Above 40’ category.

Rhinos raced to the title with an eight-wicket drubbing of Sunshine Ndovus as curtains came down on the one month event at the Nairobi Gymkhana on Sunday.

Bhoopal Sreenivasan and Balaji Krishnan shared an unbeaten 59 run partnership for the third wicket as Rhinos romped to their victory target of 88 with six balls to play.

Krishnan top scored with 34 as Sreenivasan who was later voted the tournament’s MVP in the same category added on 28 runs.

Spinners Suresh Raman (2/20) and Siju Vadakke (2 for 18) combined with Anirudh Girish (1/19) to restrict Sunshine to 87 for 5 off their 15 overs.

Ndovu who had entered the final as favorites by virtue of not having lost any match in the preliminary round, were slow with their batting with only two boundaries being scored in the entire innings.

Rhinos openers Naresh Kannabiran top scored with 19 runs with Ani Sam and skipper Chidambaram Subramanian adding on 15 runs each from 20 and 15 balls respectively.

The skipper added 15 runs

Vadakke’s scalps were Thanu Moorthy (9) and Sam while Raman’s victims were Kannabiran and Sriram Iyer (14).

Rhinos found themselves in trouble at 1/8 when wicket keeper Vinoraj was stumped in the second over but Shivaram and Sreenivasan held the innings briefly with a second wicket stand of 21 in 3.1 overs.

Praveen Kumar broke the stand when he had Shivaram caught by the skipper – Subramanian – after scoring 11 of 16 balls.

Rhinos skipper Sreenivasan then held the innings together in a title winning stand with Krishnan that included five boundaries.

Ndovus tried out seven bowlers in their defense but all was in vain.

The following were awarded in the various categories in the Above 40 category of the tournament:

Best Batter- Thanu Moorthi

Best Bowler- Suresh Raman

Best Fielder- Ramesh Vellenkiri

Best Wicketkeeper- Vino Raj

Best Catch- Siju Vadakke

Man of the Series- Bhoopal Sreenivasan

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: