Nsubuga back for Uganda’s Africa T20 clash

Prolific off – spinning all – rounder Frank Nsubuga makes it back to the squad after being dropped for the limited overs’ series against Kenya and Nigeria in September.

Deus Muhumuza will continue as captain of the Uganda Cricket Cranes team that jets off on Wednesday night to Kigali, Rwanda for the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier after being flagged off by the National Council of Sports, Uganda today. Regular skipper Brian Masaba continues to recuperate from the hamstring injury he picked last month and will be unavailable for the tour.

Team flag – off ceremony. Photo Credits Uganda Cricket Association

Uganda will be taking part in the sub – regional Group ‘A’ Qualifier that is set for 16th – 22nd October 2021 featuring six other countries, namely: Eswatini, Ghana, Lesotho, Malawi, Rwanda and Seychelles. The Cricket Cranes will fancy their chances after moving four paces up to 29th after winning the Pearl of Africa Tri – Series.

The winner and runners up of the group as well as Group B will join Kenya and Nigeria for the Regional Final slated for 15th – 21st November 2021. Kenya and Nigeria automatically qualified for the Regional Final by virtue of being the highest ranked teams as of 1st January 2020.

The squad now favourably packs four spinners in the form of Nsubuga, Frank Akankwasa and the left arm duo of Henry Ssenyondo and Gerald Mubiru.

Right arm medium pace all – rounder Richard Agamire makes it back into the Senior men’s squad after making his List A debut in Oman in 2019. The two slot in for top order batter Arnold Otwani and seaming left armer Charles Waiswa who have been named as non travelling reserves alongside seamers Jonathan Ssebanja and Cosmas Kyewuta.

budding all – rounder Richard Agamire makes it back to the side: Photo Credits: Uganda Cricket Association

The squad flies out tonight ready to open their campaign for their maiden T20 World Cup show on 16th October 2021 against Malawi at the ground-breaking Gahanga International Cricket Stadium, Kigali.

  1. Deus Muhumuza (Captain)
  2. Ronak Patel
  3. Simon Ssesazi
  4. Dinesh Nakrani
  5. Frank Akankwasa
  6. Riazat Ali Shah
  7. Kenneth Waiswa
  8. Bilal Hassun
  9. Frank Nsubuga
  10. Saud Islam
  11. Richard Agamire
  12. Henry Ssenyondo
  13. Fred Achelam
  14. Gerald Mubiru

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: