Nairobi welcomes cricket franchise tournament

Cricket fans will be pleased to see the return of Franchise Cricket after seven long years of drought with the launch of the inaugural Nairobi Cricket League this evening at Ruaraka Sports Club.

There has been no Franchise Cricket in the country since the Sharad Ghai – organised Zuku Cricket Wars in 2013.

The tournament has been organised by Nairobi Provincial Cricket Association in conjunction with Mombasa Simba Cricket Academy and Ananatpura Sports Services L.L.C. and is set to bowl off on 15th September at the same venue.

The tournament has been sponsored by Satguru Travel and Tours Services Ltd, Sun Resources and Chatur Group will feature six teams in a round robin format that culminates on 26th September and will be broadcasted live on the social media application: Fancode.

The six teams represent Kenya’s cities/towns and wildlife, namely: Nairobi Hornbills, Eldoret Hawks, Nakuru Flamingoes, Mombasa Eagles, Machakos Vultures and Kisumu Cranes.

The teams feature a mix of overseas players and local talent with mentors and icons from all over the World, including local Cricket Legends on show.

The Zimbabwean icons include: Christopher Mpofu, Neville Madziva, Elton Chigumbura, Wellington Masakadza and John Nyumbu  while the teams will be mentored by Sri Lankans in the form of Gihan Rupasinghe, Udara Jayasundera, Chamara Kapugedera, Ajantha Mendis, Lahiru Gamage and Vikum Sanjaya.

L – R: Kalpesh Solanki, Manoj Patel and Vishal Bhojani (front)
John Nyumbu, Shingirai Masakadza, Forster Mutizwa, Neville Madziva, Christopher Mpofu and Elton Chigumbura (back) at the launch of the Nairobi Cricket League at Ruaraka Sports Club.

Ex – Kenya internationals attached to the teams will Captain the various Franchises including: Steve Tikolo, Thomas Odoyo, Jimmy Kamande, Martin Suji, Joseph Angara and Kennedy Obuya.

The tournament bowls off tomorrow morning with Nairobi Hornbills and Kisumu Cranes facing off in the morning while Nakuru Flamingoes take on Mombasa Eagles in the afternoon.

All the matches will be played at Ruaraka Sports Club.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: