Kenya selects interim squad ahead of Uganda tie

The Kenya Cricket Normalization Committtee – appointed Selection Committee has picked 31 players for residential training in preparation for the Kenya – Uganda bilateral series slated for 2nd – 17th September 2021.

The players are supposed to report to camp on 26th August 2021.

Kenya will play three 50 – over matches against Uganda on 4th, 5th and 7th September before embarking on 13 IT20s in a tri – series with Nigeria from 9th September.

The two teams are preparing for the sub regional qualifiers slated for 14th – 23rd October and 31st October – 8th November in Kigali, Rwanda. Uganda play the first qualifier while Kenya are expected to take part in the latter.

The last time the men’s national team turned out for an international match was in October 2019 when they played Papua New Guinea in Dubai.

Shem Ngoche was the national team captain in the last match Kenya played against PNG on 27th October 2019. Photo credits: ICC

Below, is a list of the selected players:

  1. Alex Obanda – Stray Lions Cricket Club ‘A’
  2. Brian Likavu – Kongonis Cricket Club ‘A’
  3. Collins Obuya – Obuya Cricket Academy
  4. Dhiren Gondaria – Kanbis Sports Club ‘A’
  5. Dominic Wesonga – Nairobi Gymkhana ‘A’
  6. Elijah Otieno – Ruaraka Sports Club ‘A’
  7. Emmanuel Bundi – Kanbis Sports Club ‘A’
  8. Eugene Maneno – Sir Ali Muslim Club ‘A’
  9. Gerald Mwendwa – Stray Lions Cricket Club ‘A’
  10. Gurdeep Singh – Sir Ali Muslim Club ‘A’
  11. Irfan Karim – Nairobi Jaffery Sports Club
  12. Joseph Onyango – Stray Lions Cricket Club ‘A’
  13. Kavi Dosaja – Nairobi Gymkhana ‘A’
  14. Lucas Ndandason – Nairobi Gymkhana ‘A’
  15. Martin Ndandason – Nairobi Gymkhana ‘A’
  16. James Ngoche – Swamibapa Sports Club ‘A’
  17. Muhammad Kalyan – Sikh Union Sports Club ‘A’
  18. Nelson Odhiambo – Kanbis Sports Club ‘A’
  19. Nehemiah Ngoche – Swamibapa Sports Club ‘A’
  20. Peter Koech – Swamibapa Sports Club ‘A’
  21. Pushpak Kerai – Kanbis Sports Club ‘A’
  22. Rakep Patel – Kanbis Sports Club ‘A’
  23. Rushab Patel – Swamibapa Sports Club ‘A’
  24. Sachin Bhudia – Kanbis Sports Club ‘A’
  25. Shem Ngoche – Stray Lions Cricket Club ‘A’
  26. Steve Odhiambo – Obuya Cricket Academy
  27. Sukhdeep Singh – Sikh Union Sports Club ‘A’
  28. Tanzeel Sheikh – Ngara Sports Club ‘A’
  29. Thomas Ojijo – Kongonis Cricket Club ‘A’
  30. Vraj Patel – Ngara Sports Club ‘A’
  31. Zahid Abbas – Sir Ali Muslim Club ‘B’

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: